Bumrah Returns as India Name Squad to Face Sri Lanka and Australia

Share on:

Image source: rediff.com

In what is expected to be the last selection meeting of the MSK Prasad-led selection committee, Indian cricket fans were given a huge boost as Jasprit Bumrah was named in the limited-overs squad to face Sri Lanka and then Australia in January. The return of the ace fast bowler in time for the upcoming tour of New Zealand will come as a source of massive relief to captain Virat Kohli. Bumrah was unavailable for the home series against South Africa, Bangladesh, and West Indies, owing to a stress fracture in his back.

Shikhar Dhawan too comes back into the side having missed the West Indies series after sustaining a deep cut to his knee, playing for Delhi at the Syed Mushtaq Ali Cup. Vice-captain Rohit Sharma has been rested from the T20I squad to play Sri Lanka after a gruelling period of playing all three formats at the international level. Both Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Deepak Chahar will not feature in the final assignment of India’s home season due to injuries. India is scheduled to play a T20I series against Sri Lanka starting 4th January, which will be immediately followed by an ODI series against Australia beginning on 14th January.   

In another positive news for the Men in Blue, a return date for Hardik Pandya was announced as he was picked on the India A team to tour New Zealand. The all-rounder was side-lined after undergoing surgery for a persisting back issue in September. The tour will also see the return to the international stage of the Mumbai wunderkind Prithvi Shaw, who was banned from the game for almost a year due to a doping violation. Shubman Gill will lead the list A team while Hanuman Vihari will take charge of the four-day games.

India Squad (T20Is vs Sri Lanka): Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Shivam Dube, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur, Manish Pandey, Washington Sundar, Sanju Samson.

India Squad (ODI vs Australia): Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wk), Kedar Jadhav, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah.

India A squad for 2 tour matches and 3 one-day games: Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill (Capt), Suryakumar Yadav, Sanju Samson, Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Axar Patel, Rahul Chahar, Sandeep Warrier, Ishan Porel, Khaleel Ahmed, Mohd. Siraj

India A squad for 1st four-day game: Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Priyank Panchal, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Shubman Gill, Hanuma Vihari (Capt), KS Bharat (wk), Shivam Dube, Shahbaz Nadeem, Rahul Chahar, Sandeep Warrier, Avesh Khan, Mohd. Siraj, Ishan Porel, Ishan Kishan

India A squad for 2nd four-day game: Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Hanuma Vihari (Capt), KS Bharat (wicket-keeper), Shivam Dube, R Ashwin, Shahbaz Nadeem, Sandeep Warrier, Avesh Khan, Mohd. Siraj, Ishan Porel

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *