Former Health Secy Preeti Sudan appointed WHO panellist

Share on:

The advisory commission for pandemic preparedness and response from World Health Organisation named former health secretary Preeti Sudan joined of its 11 panellists from around the world on Thursday. In India, the selection by the two members of the council, former New Zealand Prime Minister Helen Clarke and former Liberia President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, has received a very subdued response.

Former foreign secretary Vijay Gokhale was recommended for that post by India.

Helen Clarke is believed to have expressed in an exceedingly very Chairs meeting earlier on Sudan’s experience because the top of the ministry of the presidency that led India’s response to the pandemic makes her even more appropriate for the role. Member States like India were allowed to appoint their candidates, but they lacked the support of the chair.

In its announcement dated September 3, the panel said that while it reviewed quite 120 individuals, it “completed the final word appointments supported qualifications (including competence in responding to emergencies, management of national health programmes, leadership in youth and community involvement, socio-economic analytical capabilities), awareness including WHO and related experience.

“I know none of this,” Preeti Sudan said on Saturday, about the history of her nomination. “I didn’t apply for this role.” Sudan’s nomination was pushed by Clarke who served on the board of The Partnership for Maternal, Newborn and Child Health along with the Indian officer. “I’m visiting add a globally successful venture from the capital of India,” Sudan said.

A WHO spokesman said: “The appointment of participants from the Independent Commission for Pandemic Preparedness and Response (IPPR) was made by the co-chairs, former Liberian President, Her Excellency Ellen Johnson Sirleaf and former New Zealand Prime Minister Helen Clark. World Health Organisation has not taken a vote.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *