India Chosen as an Elected Member to United Nations’ ECOSOC

Share on:

In a significant step towards development, India has been elected as a member of the Commission on Status of Women (CSW), a body of the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC). The news was confirmed by TS Tirumurti, a permanent representative of India to the UN, on Twitter. He tweeted, “India wins seat in prestigious #ECOSOC body! India elected Member of Commission on Status of Women #CSW. It’s a ringing endorsement of our commitment to promote gender equality and women’s empowerment in all our endeavours. We thank member states for their support. @MEAIndia”. 

India, Afghanistan and China had contested in the election to the UN’s Commission on Status of Women. According to reports, both New Delhi and Kabul won the poll among the 54 member nations however China was reported to not have crossed the half-way mark. India will be a member of the prestigious body for a total of four years from 2021 to 2025.

The CSW is the principal global intergovernmental body that is exclusively dedicated to the promotion of gender equality and the empowerment of women. It was established on 21 June 1946 as a functional commission of the ECOSOC under resolution 11(1). It primarily promotes women’s rights and in shaping global standards on gender equality and women empowerment. There are 45 member states of the UN that serve as members of the Commission. It consists of one representative from each of the 45 member states elected by the ECOSOC on grounds of equitable geographical distribution. As of right now, the ECOSOC has 13 members from Africa, 11 members from Asia,  nine from Latin America and the Caribbean, eight from Western Europe and four from Eastern Europe. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *