Share on:

Eight opposition MPs, including leader Derek O’Brien of the Trinamool Congress and Sanjay Singh of the AAP, were suspended from Rajya Sabha for a week under Rule 256(2) on Monday for their “undisciplined conduct” during the vigorous protests on Sunday over the farm bills

The government has forwarded to the House a motion to expel them for “bringing disrepute.”

The House approved the motion in the midst of opposition leaders’ protests. However, the Chair did not take into account the motion of no confidence moved by the Opposition against deputy chairman of Rajya Sabha Harivansh.      Congress leaders Rajeev Satav, Syed Nasir Hussain and Ripun Borah, CPIM’s KK Ragesh and Elamaram Kareem and Trinamool’s Dola Sen were suspended in addition to O’Brien and Singh.

Initially, the suspended MPs refused to quit and shouted slogans, forcing Venkaiah Naidu, chairman of Rajya Sabha, to adjourn the House till 10 am. The suspended MPs continued their protestations when the House resumed, and the House was adjourned for another half an hour.

The farm bills – The Farmers’ Produce Trade and Commerce (Promotion and Facilitation) Bill, 2020 and the Farmers (Empowerment and Protection) Agreement on Price Assurance and Farm Services Bill, 2020 were passed in Rajya Sabha on Sunday, by voice voting, despite massive protest by opposition and farmers.  The bills were cleared in the midst of a chaos at Rajya Sabha with many MPs taking to the House’s well and voicing protests against the government.

The Centre on Sunday tabled the contentious farm bills – the Farmers’ and Produce Trade and Commerce (Promotion and Facilitation) Bill, 2020, Price Assurance and Farm Services Bill for Farmers (Empowerment and Protection) Agreement, 2020 in Rajya Sabha.

In agriculture-dependent states like Punjab, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Rajasthan, the bills have stirred massive protests among farmers.

The bills have been labelled as ‘anti-farmer’ by the opposition parties. Congress on Sunday said the ‘death warrant’ won’t be signed. Trinamool Congress, on the other hand, doubted how many BJP MPs had developed a detailed understanding of the three bills.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *