PM Modi divides ministers into eight groups to improve government’s efficiency

Share on:

In a move to make governance more efficient and transparent, the Central government has divided ministers from the council into eight groups to recruit young professionals into their team and develop technology-based resources.

The Centre will rope in young professionals and seek suggestions from retiring experienced officials. An emphasis will be laid on making the best use of technology to achieve the goal of good governance, officials familiar with the matter said.

The division of the minister happened after five long brainstorming sessions, each one lasting nearly five hours, they said. PM Modi chaired all the meetings which were attended by the entire council of ministers. Ministers had one session each on Personal Efficiency, Focused Implementation, Ministry Functioning and Stakeholder Engagement, Party Coordination and Effective Communication, and Parliamentary Practices.

The focus was primarily on improving the delivery systems of the government, the sources said. The division of ministers into groups is the first step of attaining better efficiency in governance. For better communication, each group has been assigned a coordinator.

Piyush Goyal, Anurag Thakur and Smriti Irani are some union ministers who will be the coordinators.

These groups are expected to create a portal in each minister’s office to review the performance of the flagship policies and schemes. They are also tasked with creating a dashboard to easily monitor the decisions taken by the ministers and a system to swiftly schedule meetings and manage correspondence. A profile of all states, districts and ministries needs to be created as well.

The meetings, which were conducted keeping in mind the long-term strategy for 2024 general elections, will also benefit the new members of the council of ministers who are getting the chance to work with the Centre for the first time.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.