TKR Clobber Zouks To Bag Their 4th CPL Title

Share on:

Riding on the back of a stellar batting display by Lendl Simmons and Darren Bravo and by virtue of a magnificent bowling spell from the skipper Kieron Pollard the Trinbago Knight Riders clinched their 4th CPL title by drubbing the St. Lucia Zouks by 8 wickets with 11 balls to spare and earned themselves the bragging rights by becoming the only team in the history of the CPL to enjoy an invincible run throughout a season. 

Chasing a mediocre total of 155, TKR were jolted early as both Tion Webster and Tim Seifert went away cheaply without putting up much of a fight. But the Zouks failed to capitalize on the early momentum gained as both Simmons and Darren Bravo got their act together and stitched an unvanquished 138 run stand to hand over TKR its 4th CPL title.

Lendl Simmons showed phenomenal aplomb under searing pressure and anchored the run chase fulgently by keeping the required run rate under check and dismantled the Zouks bowling attack which looked toothless towards the end. Darren Bravo, who also started quite tentatively complemented Simmons(84* off 49 balls) really well by playing second fiddle to him and made an absolute mockery of the Zouks bowlers by hammering 6 sixes in his 47 ball 58.

Earlier in the day, Pollard won the toss on a deck that looked sublime for batting with a bit of assistance for the spinners. The Zouks lost Cornwall early but were salvaged well by Andre Fletcher and Mark Deyal, the dazzling duo looked quite well on course of taking the Zouks to a healthy total but their menacing 67 run stand was broken by Fawad Ahmed who brought TKR back into the contest. 

The Zouks never managed to recover after losing both Fletcher and Deyal in quick succession and kept losing wickets at regular intervals and were eventually bowled out for 154 with the skipper Pollard being the wrecker-in-chief bagging astounding figures of 4 for 30.